These mud forts were used for protection
against Aborigines near Adavale
and fascinating stories about them still abound.
Over 100 years, floods have eroded these structures,
the bases of each are still visible today (2012).
B&W photos & descriptions from State Library of Queensland
Colour photos by author
click on image for larger version
NOTE The leaning Coolabah Tree in the background.
Mud forts at Tin-Tin-Chilla Station, in the Adavale district, Queensland, ca. 1905: Tintinchilla was first taken up as Imbadulla and Injamulla by Henry St. John in 1866. These runs and several others were consolidated as Tintinchilla in 1886. This was later incorporated in Milo Station. (Description supplied with photograph). Caption: Mud forts used in the early days for protection against the blacks at Tin-Tin-Chilla, Adavale. (Photo by H. J. Walton, Charleville.)
Mud forts in the Adavale District, ca. 1910: The mud forts were used for protection against Aborigines at Tintinchilla, Adavale. (Description supplied with photograph.)
Last remnants of a building made from mud bricks, Adavale, Queensland, ca. 1928